Tzaph Likes… Animated Films, Honourable Mentions

When I was putting together my list of favourite animated films, there were a couple that just didn’t quite make the grade, or that I simply overlooked. It would be a shame for me not to give them at least a passing mention. So consider this my attempt to build suspense until tomorrow…

 

How to Train Your Dragon

Sunfest- How to Train your Dragon poster 2

 

How to Train Your Dragon follows the Viking teenager Hiccup as he tries to defeat a dragon (the sworn enemies of his village) and become accepted, but he ends up befriending one instead. Hilarity ensues, culminating in a great final climax against the big dragon daddy.

At this point, I’m just running through the checklist; gorgeous visuals, great soundtrack, and a solid cast and storyline. Special mention has to made for Gerard Butler, who plays the Viking king Stoick the Vast. Butler can now claim being the ruler of two badass cultures, the Spartans and the Vikings.

How to Train Your Dragon is excellent, but it didn’t quite make the list; the nostalgia factor of some other films won out. That said, I fully admit that How to Train Your Dragon is a far superior film than Titan AE in almost every regard, and it would’ve easily claimed the number 7 spot if not for the memories I associate withTitan AE.

One last thing; I’m not fond of seeing films in 3D; for the most part, I think it’s a stupid gimmick and a pitiful excuse to jack up cinema seat prices. I absolutely hate it when films include scenes that are intended solely for 3D, like Saw; The Final Chapter and Silent Hill Revelations. All that said, How to Train Your Dragonis the best use of 3D I’ve seen in the cinema to date.

 

The Road to El Dorado

road_to_el_dorado_ver3 

Another film from Dreamworks, this time a traditionally animated feature. Dreamworks have a larger library of CGI films, like the aforementioned How to Train Your Dragon, Shrek, and Kung Fu Panda, so their “pen-and-paper” films are generally overshadowed. I haven’t seen Sinbad: Legend of the Seven Seas, andSpirit: Stallion of the Cimarron is a little “meh”, but Prince of Egypt and Road to El Dorado are both great, and of these two, I prefer Road.

In Road to El Dorado, two lovable scoundrels named Miguel and Tulio manage to obtain a map to El Dorado, the fabled lost city of gold. Upon arriving, the two are treated as gods by the people of the city and lavished with riches, which they intend to take back to Spain. While trying to come up with a plan, they must deal with the demented priest Tzekel-Kan, the zealous Cortes, and Miguel’s reluctance to leave the beautiful city.

I watched Road for the first time in a long while the other day, and forgot how much I like it. In fact, I wish I’d seen it before making the list, because Roadwould’ve taken Lion King’s spot, no problem. The dialogue is snappy and funny, and there’s still a soundtrack by Elton John! What more could you ask for?

Join me tomorrow when I’ll be gushing more than the lady parts of a teenage girl at a Bieber concert about my favourite animated film.

Miguel, perhaps a little drumroll to help build up a bit more suspense?

MIGUEL YOU ARE SO SILLY THAT IS NOT A DRUM.

 

Tzaph

Leave a Reply

