Wallet May Cry

You know the thing that sucks most about being a gamer? It’s being unable to resist the siren call of new releases to charm and bamboozle you into parting with your hard-earned disposable income. Last year was a good year to be a member of the 360 Fraternity and this year is shaping up to be just as awesome and just as wallet-draining.

The last few weeks alone, we’ve had two big names, Marvel vs Capcom 3 and Bulletstorm. I can’t even begin to tell you how much joy these games fill me with. I loved MvC2 (Akuma, Adamantium Claw Wolverine and Cable team ftw) and MvC3 seems especially designed to be as mind-bendingly fantastic as possible, with seizure-triggering Hypers and a combat system that can be as deep and intricate as you want it to be, something I’ve always found to be part of the appeal of the Vs series – two newbies can happily button mash and have a blast, while experienced players will cause a pandemic of rage-quits by pulling off degenerate 20+ hit aerial raves and hit-cancelling into X-Factor powered team Super combos… or something.

Regardless, I’ll be picked up MvC3 and having super-happy-fun-times with a team deemed cool only by 14-year old boys (Dante, Wesker, Deadpool), and a team deemed cool only by me (Hsien-Ko, MODOK, Taskmaster).

Bulletstorm’s demo – although short – is chock-full of super-win. I’ve played through it a few times and I’m looking forward to the full game. At the moment I don’t feel like I’m adhering to the motto of “Kill With Skill”, since I seem to just be using the same three skill shots over and over again, so it’ll be cool to see what opportunities you get in the full game for comical mayhem.

Oooooh, what else…

Dragon Age 2 is rapidly approaching, and although I’m sad I can’t be a promiscuously bisexual elf mage any more, I suppose the action-packed combat and epic new story will have to do. If Dragon Age 2 is to Origins in the same way as Mass Effect 2 was to Mass Effect, then I will be a happy, happy fellow.

On the subject of Mass Effect, we’ll be getting the third instalment of that towards the end of the year. This is only a good thing. Other good things this year will be Deux Ex 3, Gears of War 3, Portal 2, Homefront, and supposedly that near-mythical Space Marine game; and on the subject of mythical, Duke Nukem Forever, which in my opinion should be released as Duke Nukem Finally.

All these things make my gamerscore happy and my wallet very very sad.

 – Tzaph

2 thoughts on “Wallet May Cry

Leave a Reply

